Thread: How much does a 3D model cost?

Default How much does a 3D model cost?

Hi,
    I am looking for a cartoon character for my next game. Style Animal Crossing. I need a cute cat character between 600-800 polys + textures + skinning (not the rig). How much does this kind of stuff cost? I need to get an idea before I accept a contract.

thanks

JC

I'm no expert, so don't kill me if you make a bad decision based on my advice - but it depends on several factors. 3D models can cost from nothing, all the way up to thousands of dollars (<-- O_O).
    If you want a quality, high-detailed model, obviously it is going to cost more.
    Somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe models also cost more when the artist includes the texture and rigging.
    I suggest taking a look at http://www.turbosquid.com/ before making any contracts. They have some free models () and other high quality models that are paid-for.

Yeah it all depends but as an example Dyno Kid with 4 way animation cost me &#163;200 ($400) if i remember correct and would of taken 8-10 hours to do.

Darren.
    Last edited by Dyno Kid; 11-10-2006 at 09:05 AM.

I don't want to come off as an asshat, but Dyno, you may want to tone down your banner. I just ad-blocked you because it's gigantic and attrocious.

I think that this isn't "his" banner, but the artist's that made Dyno Kid...

or else i wouldn't imagine how this model could cost $400...

Ok Ass banner gone,

Just wanted to show what you get for your money ass.

Darren.

Thanks Dino for the information.

I was wondering if some artists could give me a quick quote for the mesh I described above.

JC

Do you have concept art? If not, it's likely to be a more expensive job. It's more work when the artist doesn't have a precise piece of concept art to work from.

Well, I work from concept of my self as am full profile artist