+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: weird affiliate offer from Plimus

  1. #1

    Question weird affiliate offer from Plimus

    Ok, maybe it's 100% legit - However, I just got an offer by email from plimus to sell this site's subscription as affiliate:
    http://360downloadcenter.com/

    looking at the website and reading the texts, seems a bit too good to be true (and to be legal lol). What do you think ?

    (I'm asking because was thinking to buy that for myself but want to be sure is legal!)

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NW England
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Yup, it's dodgy as heck.

    You only have to look at how many mentions of "high speed downloads" to set off the alarm bells. Keyword city.

    Plus, y'know, what are you supposed to do with them after you've downloaded them? Ah, they've got that covered with their "beginners guide".

    Avoid.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Gainesville, Florida
    Posts
    794

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Norton View Post
    Ok, maybe it's 100% legit - However, I just got an offer by email from plimus to sell this site's subscription as affiliate:
    http://360downloadcenter.com/

    looking at the website and reading the texts, seems a bit too good to be true (and to be legal lol). What do you think ?

    (I'm asking because was thinking to buy that for myself but want to be sure is legal!)
    Well, one tip off is that every single link on the Internet about 360downloadcenter.com has been written by them. They've spammed the internet by submitting articles and posting fake blogs touting their greatness.

    The site was registered very recently:
    http://www.nsspy.org/archive/hostgat...0-02-05/1.html

    That Plimus affiliate page was written by them. That's their e-commerce landing page.

    The pricing and name remind me of the 360 virus scanners. The ones that are trojan adware downloaders. Perhaps they've saturated the previous market [scared old ladies] and have decided to jump to a new one [pirates].

    The affiliation bit is a stroke of genius. They run off with their money and you get all the charge backs.
    -James
    Haunted Hotel I, Haunted Hotel II, Jane Croft

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    In a tree-house.
    Posts
    587

    Default

    DISCLAIMER

    This site and the products and services offered on this site are not associated, affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by Microsoft, nor have they been reviewed, tested, or certified by Microsoft.
    And yet they have microsoft games on their front page. This is a scam.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    490

    Default

    Definitely looks like a scam. Somebody who knows who to contact should contact both Microsoft and Plimus to let them know about this.

  6. #6

    Default

    Ok so it's as I suspected, but what worries me is that the email was from PLIMUS, not them!
    360 Download Center Affiliate Offers - Brought To You By Plimus
    Didn't they check this before sending out the newsletter to all affiliates ??

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,882

    Default

    Check the copy on the "welcome" part. Definitely not legit. Mistakes in there suggest foriegners too.

    Yeah, how can plimus who are so anal about chargebacks and fraud allow this? maybe thats WHY they were phoning customers? Maybe the CC companies saw that they had too high a chargeback count and told them to clean up their act, maybe this happens a lot.

    Idle speculation can be fun!
    www.mindflock.com - social AI-based games

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    490

    Default

    Check out the typos in the FAQ section:
    Q: Do I need to pay mouthly fee for the site membership?
    A: We decided to provide the membership only for a small onetime fee. You only have to pay once for a life time membership.

    Q: What do I get with the membership?
    A: You membership includes instant unlimited access to our download section. We provide xbox 360 games, movies, music, software and a free guide for beginners.
    And no monthly fee for unlimited downloads of commercial games?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Norton View Post
    Ok so it's as I suspected, but what worries me is that the email was from PLIMUS, not them!
    That doesn't mean anything. From what little I know of it, there's a way to change the From email address to whatever a smart spammer wants. I get emails from myself all the time and I know I didn't send myself scammy letters.

  10. #10

    Default

    No no, it was really from plimus, it wasn't a fake email, I'm sure 100% about this. It had all the various fields, address matched, etc.
    I don't think I'm the only affiliate who got it...

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    355

    Default

    Did you ask Plimus, because that's the only way to know for sure. Spammers can fake all the stuff in emails as they wish, so what ever there's in the email proves nothing.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    2,191

    Default

    This innocent trust of Plimus is odd; while it's not impossible it's rather unlikely that they would manage to fake a message to all plimus affiliates (yes, I got the mail too). Unless they'd hacked Plimus to get the mailing list and then it would STILL need to be brought to Plimus's attention.

    Not to mention that it's on their website as their official newsletter.

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JarkkoL View Post
    Did you ask Plimus, because that's the only way to know for sure. Spammers can fake all the stuff in emails as they wish, so what ever there's in the email proves nothing.
    Doubt they could fake a custom URL to unsubscribe from plimus that WORKED
    (yes, I'm not interested in receiving such offers anymore lol)

  14. #14

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    355

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Norton View Post
    Doubt they could fake a custom URL to unsubscribe from plimus that WORKED
    Unless the site is hacked and it's not www. plimuz.com/unsubscribe

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,050

    Default

    Yeah I'd avoid clicking an UNSUBSCRIBE link in a fishy email.

  17. #17

    Default

    Yeah sorry, I am dumb and I just got 150 trojans on my pc! OMGZ ! I can't find a difference between a fake and a real email!

    Just so you understand it (since seems you don't):
    THE EMAIL WAS REAL

    understood? That's why I was shocked that a company like Plimus sent such an email without even checking that the site is a scam!!!!!!!

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    277

    Default

    That is strange.

    ...Unless Plimus was thrown a bucket load of money by this particular affiliate to mention them in their newsletter.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    490

    Default

    I'm guessing it's just a computer-generated promotion. An algorithm of some sort chooses one of Plimus' clients to promote and sends out the corresponding email to all affiliates. As luck of the draw would have it, they just happened to pick one of those that happen to be running what looks like a scam.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts