PDA

View Full Version : DNS trouble, can you see this site?



mot
11-26-2007, 05:59 PM
http://www.catnapgames.com

Please let me know 1) if you see it 2) where you are, geographically

After migrating to a new server I've had trouble accessing my site several times although the server is running and when I try opening it through an anonymous http proxy server it works as well. Never had any DNS trouble with other sites, so I'm getting suspicious something is not 100% correctly set up somewhere.

UPDATE - resolved (!), thanks for all responses.

MikeVitt
11-26-2007, 06:15 PM
Works for me (NJ, USA).

oldschool
11-26-2007, 06:15 PM
I see it, Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA.

good luck.

Drake
11-26-2007, 06:16 PM
Reachable in sunny Hollywood, CA.

oNyx
11-26-2007, 06:27 PM
Works fine. (North Germany)

If DNS stuff changes (new site or moving servers) it can take up to 24 hours until it works everywhere.

DayDream
11-26-2007, 06:35 PM
No problems - tropical North Queensland, Australia

Pogacha
11-26-2007, 06:46 PM
Works for Argentina.

papillon
11-26-2007, 07:08 PM
Looks fine from my bit of the UK.

Garthy
11-26-2007, 08:11 PM
I can see it- South Australia, Australia.

Depending on how things are set up, DNS changes- such as those that would occur when migrating to a new server- can take up to a couple of days to propagate through the world.

If you've recently made the change, and you or your DNS hosting provider haven't taken explicit steps to assist in the migration, you might have a mish-mash of old and new site for those two days.

Some reading for your next server migration:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=dns+ttl&btnG=Google+Search&meta=

The basic gist is to drop the TTL a couple of days beforehand, do the move, then bump it up again.

Alternatively, keeping the site active on both servers for those two days probably works as well.

Apologies if you already know all of this.

mrkwang
11-26-2007, 09:38 PM
Works for me. Seoul, Korea.

matibee
11-27-2007, 01:07 AM
All works in my bit of the UK too. What's the issue? I had a stupid problem once where my host had put a typo in one of the nameserver records.. ns1.whereever.. was spelt ok, ns2.whereever.. had the typo which meant you could only get to the site if you were connected through the right nameserver.

Anyway, I'm sure you know but just in case; DnsStuff.com and tracert (http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/tracert.mspx?mfr=true) are invaluable at times like this.

Cheers
Matt

mot
11-27-2007, 02:28 AM
Thanks a lot everyone, it works for me too now. Must have been an issue with my local ISP's DNS, not the one that keeps the domain records.

The reason I was worried is that about two weeks after the migration the domain registrar actually did mess things up, reverting to the previous records. Didn't even let me know about their problems, no apology. And since the old server was still running, I didn't notice it until it finally went offline. Oh well.