PDA

View Full Version : Music/sound, separate skills

Dave Chan
08-20-2007, 03:12 PM
I know this is fairly common in the industry, in fact I have got some strange looks over the years when I tell people I am a sound designer, but not a composer. Have you folks here ever considered having a separate music and sound design forum? I admit there is a lot of crossover in skills, but they really are distinct. I mean you wouldn't ask Randy Thom to score a Pixar film or Howard Shore to make explosion sounds for an action flick. Just food for thought.

Melin
08-20-2007, 11:14 PM
I see how one can be a sound designer and not a composer.

A composer who's not able to do sound design however, seems weird to me. I know if I was a developer, I'd probably go with someone else if the composer didn't offer sound design as well.

You're designing your own sounds every day anyway in your music (unless you're stuck with using factory presets on every sample library, which should be illegal anyway).

Staffan Melin
Melin Music (http://www.melinmusic.com)

AnthemAudio
08-21-2007, 04:55 AM
I'm guessing this should probably go in a different category besides News...

You don't know how many interns I get applying here who just want to write music and can't do sound design or dialog production. Rather, it's that they don't want to.

At any rate, in the indie world, it makes sense to be able to do both. For instance, I did the sound design for Daycare Nightmare. Jesse Hopkins was the composer. Now I had to duck out the last few weeks of production for personal problems and Jesse was able to fill in some sfx for the game.

Generally, if you got the tools to write music, you got the tools to design SFX. Generally. Larger scale/budget titles, depending on dev cycle and implementation scheduling the sound designer and music composer is separate. Again, generally...but most prevalent.

For this board however, it would seem best to consolidate the categories.

Diragor
08-21-2007, 07:24 AM